AAUP-IL logo AAUP-IL April Newsletter
Dear colleague and fellow AAUP member:

I have the honor and the privilege to invite you to our annual meeting, scheduled for Saturday, April 17, 2004, at

Columbia College Chicago
623 S. Wabash
Chicago IL 60605

The theme is Contingent Faculty – their rights as well as their impact on academic freedom and tenure. Dr. Sylvia Manning, the Chancellor of the University of Illinois at Chicago, and Joe Berry and Jocelyn Graaf, leaders in Contingent faculty issues, will be our main speakers. The meeting is free and open to all faculty.

At the meeting you will have a chance to meet colleagues from other institutions, listen to the valuable remarks of our plenary speakers and pick up some free brochures and other publications. Lunch will be served to all attending faculty. (See the program below for more details.) Please join us! We look forward to your attendance.

The nearest CTA station is at Harrison (Red line). Parking is also available in the area.

Please call me if you have any questions or need any further information.

Pan Papacosta
President, AAUP-Illinois
(312) 344 – 7443
Photo of Keynote Speaker Dr. Sylvia Manning THE PROGRAM
9:30 AM
Morning Coffee

10:00 AM
Welcoming Remarks and Introductions

10:30 AM
Dr. Sylvia Manning (pictured)
Chancellor, University of Illinois-Chicago
~~ Topic: "Growing Crisis in Public Higher Education" ~~

11:20 AM
Questions and Discussion

11:45 AM

1:00 PM
Joe Berry and Jocelyn Graaf
~~ Topic: “Issues of Contingent Faculty” ~~

1:40 PM
Questions and Discussion

2:00 PM
Business Meeting of AAUP – IL

3:00 PM
Please participate in the nomination process. Our organization belongs to all its members and serves the academic common good. Our Council needs members who believe passionately in AAUP principles and are also prepared to spend a few hours per month on AAUP matters. Members of the Council are also expected to attend 2-3 meetings per year. Council members are reimbursed for all traveling expenses connected with their AAUP-IL duties.

We are seeking nominations for the following positions:

PRESIDENT (2004-06)
TREASURER (2004-05)

Please send your nominations to any one member of the Nominating Committee below:

CHAIR: Walter Kendall (The John Marshall Law School)
(312) 987-2377 7kendall@jmls.edu

Peter Kirstein (St. Xavier University)
(773) 298-3283 kirstein@sxu.edu

Lisa Townsley (Benedictine University)
(630) 829-6557 ltownsley@ben.edu

Ken Kantor (National Louis University)
(847) 905-2378 Kkantor@nl.edu

Ken Andersen (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
(217) 333-9105 keanders@uic.edu
Technical Editor: Lynne M. Meyer, Executive Director, AAUP-IL