ANNOUNCEMENTS Nominations Sought for the Illinois AAUP State Council

We seek nominations for the following Illinois AAUP Council offices.

- President (2005 07)
- Secretary (2005 07)
- Four Council Members (2005 08)

Please send your nominations (you may nominate yourself) to the chair of the Nominating Committee, Professor Walter J. Kendall at The John Marshall Law School.

(312) 987–2377 or e-mail <u>7kendall@jmls.edu</u>

Other members of the Nominating Committee are: Lisa Townsley (Benedictine University) Peter N. Kirstein (St. Xavier University) Hugh Miller (Loyola University) and Michael McIntyre (DePaul University)

IL AAUP Speakers Bureau

John K. Wilson, editor of *Illinois Academe*, and the coordinator of the Independent Press Association's Campus Journalism Project, spoke at St. Xavier University March 23, 2005 on "Academic Freedom in Time of War." This fall, Wilson will publish his newest book, *Patriotic Correctness: Academic Freedom and Its Enemies*. All Illinois AAUP members are invited to bring him to your campus as part of his book tour. For more information, email <u>collegefreedom@yahoo.com</u>.

Ken Andersen, Speech Communication, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, past president, IL AAUP:

1) Shared Governance and Due Process; 2) Academic Freedom & Tenure.

Joseph Felder, Economics Bradley University, Secretary, IL AAUP (member of AAUP National Council):

1) Academic challenges of the national AAUP office; 2) Types of services and assistance from the national AAUP office.

Peter Kirstein, History, St. Xavier University.

Jack Leahy, Religious Studies, DePaul University, and past president, IL AAUP: 1) Academic issues in religious affiliated institutions; 2.) Contingent faculty.

Pan Papacosta, Columbia College in Chicago, and president, IL AAUP:1) Academic Freedom & Tenure; 2) The significance of the Faculty Handbook.

Lawrence Poston, English, University of Illinois at Chicago:

1) Academic freedom and tenure; 2) Academic governance.

Leo Welch, Biology, Southwestern Illinois College, and past president, IL AAUP: 1) Legislation and academia; 2) Collective bargaining issues in academia.

John K. Wilson, editor, *Illinois Academe*; founder, www.collegefreedom.org; Ph.D. student, Illinois State University:

1) History of Academic Freedom in America; 2) Patriotic Correctness; 3) The Academic Bill of Rights.

IL AAUP speakers are generally available free of charge to AAUP chapters, and the Illinois AAUP can cover most expenses. We invite all our chapters and members to make use of this Speakers Bureau. Contact IL AAUP Executive Director Lynne Meyer at (773) 510-5923, lmmeyer@mindspring.com. We are accepting nominations and proposals from experienced AAUP members who wish to serve on this bureau.

AAUP National Annual Meeting June 9-11, 2005Washington, D.C.

"National Security and Academic Freedom"

Lisa Anderson, Dean, School of International and Public Affairs, Columbia University

Allan E. Goodman, President and CEO Institute of International Education.

Tariq Ramadan: Named by *Time* magazine as one of the 100 most important innovators of the 21st century, Ramadan was appointed Henry R. Luce Professor of Religion, Conflict and Peacebuilding at the Kroc Institute at the University of Notre Dame for fall 2004. Two weeks prior to his departure, however, he was informed that his visa had been revoked by the Department of Homeland Security.

For more information and to register, go to www.aaup.org.